Save a Sweater: Easy DIY Patches

Sweater Patches

I have a favorite cardigan that I wear 24/7. It’s gray, so it goes with almost everything. It’s not too bulky, so it’s easy to cram into a bag or carry around during a night out. It also fits just right. And it’s comfortable. I have had it since college and have worn it approximately 2,367 times. I love that cardigan!

So when it started to get holes in the elbows I was devastated. It was starting to look worn-out and old. It was borderline not work appropriate. But I am emotionally attached to that cardigan and the thought of replacing it was just too much.

And that’s when I had a brilliant idea – instead of spending $30 on a new cardigan, why not patch up my old favorite for free! I have more exercise t-shirts than any one person could ever need (You know, those baggy unisex t-shirts they give you at 5Ks and other sporting events? I own 300). So I used an old t-shirt to create elbow patches and sewed them onto my cardigan. It only took about 15 minutes for my favorite sweater to look brand new.

Here’s how you can DIY some patches for your favorite sweater or sweatshirt:

1. Find an old t-shirt you don’t mind cutting up.

2. Measure the size of the hole you are trying to cover up. Hint: Make sure you give yourself and extra 1/2 inch – 1 inch on each side of the hole to work with. If you make the patch the same size or smaller than the hole it will be impossible to sew it on.

3. Use the measurements from Step 2 to trace on and cut out patches from your t-shirt fabric. I made heart shapes but you can do anything you want like squares, circles, animals, flowers . . . go crazy! Hint: If you’re bad a cutting out shapes, draw or print something on paper first to use as a paper stencil. Then you can trace your shape onto the fabric lightly with a pencil to make cutting out a clean shape easier.

4. Pick a fun colored-thread that will go well with the t-shirt patches you made. Then hand-stitch each patch over your elbow hole. Hint: Here’s a great video on how to hand-stitch if you’re a beginner http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B2mfJweh8a0.

5. Viola! You’re ready to wear your sweater.

As you’re getting your fall/winter clothes out of the closet, I hope this helps you bring some older sweaters back to life!

Leave a Reply

