Amazing Discovery – I Like Oatmeal!

Last night, I made a life-changing discovery – I like oatmeal.

Oatmeal with Nutella mixed in that is.

A 13 oz. jar of Nutella is $3.59. A little expensive, but worth the deliciousness.

A 13 oz. jar of Nutella is $3.59. A little expensive, but worth the deliciousness.

If you’re wondering, I still have some of that instant oatmeal that I bought 2 or 3 months left over. I can’t throw it out, but I can’t bring myself to eat it either. Then a few days ago I came across this Buzzfeed: http://www.buzzfeed.com/suzefigs/15-ways-to-eat-more-oatmeal-9ynr

Although some of the recipes are pretty basic, and some are just downright frightening (what the HECK is pan-seared oatmeal?! Or zucchini oatmeal bread?), I was intrigued by the idea of Nutella in oatmeal. I would make the consistency less soggy. And Nutella is quite possibly the most delicious thing in the world.

Last night I was super brave. I made some plain instant oatmeal. I mixed in ample Nutella. The results were OUT OF THIS WORLD. It was chocolately, hazelnutty, not too thick but not too soggy. It was delicious. The Nutella may have erased any nutritional value that the oatmeal had, but it was worth it. I highly recommend it.

Here’s the recipe (you can pretty much figure it out on your own but just in case):

1 packet plain instant oatmeal

1/2 cup milk

1-2 tablespoons of Nutella (or as much as you want . . . go crazy!)

Heat the milk in a small sauce pan until boiling. Reduce heat to medium-high and stir in oats. Keep stirring, and removing from the heat to stop it from over boiling until the oats have absorbed most of the milk. Remove from the burner and stir in the Nutella. Try not to stuff it all in your face at once.

**Bonus hint – you can also use peanut butter! Might not curb your chocolate craving, but if you had extra hanging around or didn’t have Nutella it would be a good substitute.

Here I am just enjoying some oatmeal. :)

Here I am just enjoying some oatmeal. 🙂

Hope you enjoy this cheap, easy recipe.

 

One thought on “Amazing Discovery – I Like Oatmeal!

Leave a Reply

