4 Books in 4 Sentences Or Less

Update on my New Year’s Resolution to read 24 books this year – I have finished 3 books plus 1 bonus book that was not on my list! I know, I know . . . I’m such an over-achiever. But I listened to the bonus book on Audible so that made it a lot easier.

In case you were curious what I thought, I have come up with super short reviews of each book. Each one is 4 sentences or less (P.S. parentheses don’t count as sentences! That’s why they are the best).  And then I gave each book an “Official Kelsey Rating.” Here they are:

Divergent by Veronica Roth – Like the Hunger Games except better because there was no annoying love triangle (an obligatory feature of all teen fiction now-a-days). If you like post-apocalyptic semi-science fictions, you’ll definitely enjoy it.  It’s a quick, fun, fast-paced read. Plus Tris, the main character, is way more Katniss Everdeen power girl than obnoxious Bella Swan pushover which makes you want to root for her throughout the story.

Official Kelsey Rating: 2 thumbs up!

Insurgent by Veronica Roth- The sequel to Divergent. This is definitely a series like the Hunger Games or City of Bones where you need to immediately read the next book so you know what happens next. I am starting the third one ASAP. And I can’t wait for the movies to start coming out.

Official Kelsey Rating: Can’t put it down!

PS If you’ve read the books you can take this quiz and find out which faction you’d be in: http://www.divergentfans.com/page/faction-quiz. I got Candor which is almost as bad as getting Hufflepuff for your Hogwarts House!

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – This book just straight up confused me.  Here’s my best attempt to summarize what happened: there’s a guy and a girl who are in some sort of weird magical competition that has no rules, no time limit, and no one knows how you win or how it ends and it takes place at a circus. I think it might have all been a metaphor for something but the writing was so all over the place that I have no idea what that might be. It made me feel like I did when I watched the movie Garden State – angry that I am missing out on the deep, life-changing experience everyone else seemed to be having as a result of the film/book.

Official Kelsey Rating: Don’t bother

Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg – ** bonus book** Everyone of my generation, female AND male, should read this book. I don’t care if you “don’t think you’re a feminist,” it’s still an important read. Women may have come a long way since the Madmen days, but we still have work to do in order to achieve actual gender equality. This book isn’t just about large scale changes that society as a whole should make – it also makes you stop and think about the gender-related things you do every day that might be holding me back from achieving your goals (I, for example, frequently answer questions I am 100% positive I am right about in an unsure tone. You know the one I’m talking about. “I’m not sure but, I think that maybe . . .?”)

Official Kelsey Rating: Read it. NOW!

So what do you think? If you’ve read any of these books, do you agree with me? I’d love to hear what you think! Hit me up in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

